Home > Uncategorized > Using Twitter as a Recruiting Tool

Using Twitter as a Recruiting Tool

In speaking with recruiters on a daily basis, I’m often asked about Twitter. What is it? How does it work? How can it help me as a recruiter? etc. In my opinion Twitter is a fantastic recruiting tool and also a great tool for people who are looking for a job.

If I were a recruiter I would have a link in my email signature that encourages job seekers to “follow me on Twitter“. Then I would offer to alert them every time I find out about a job opening. I would also tweet links to relevant information, articles, blog posts, events, etc. to help my followers with their job search. The bottom line is that if I keep providing value to my tweeple, I may ultimately make a great hire whether it is a job seeker who is following me or one of their friends who they shared my info with. Doug Berg of Jobs2web created a great video to further explain how recruiters can use Twitter in their recruiting.

If I were a job seeker I would find and follow as many recruiters as possible on Twitter.  I think I’ll have a much better chance of connecting with a recruiter by responding to their tweet than by submitting my resume to Monster or Career Builder and waiting for someone to call me.  Jason Buss of The Talent Buzz mentioned a great site to help people find recruiters, TweepSearch.  He pointed out that you can find 350 HR professionals and 900 recruiters on Twitter using tweepsearch.

There are a lot of great tools out there to help job seekers and recruiters connect.  If you are not using Twitter you are missing out.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 11, 2009 at 3:13 am

Leave a Reply

