Home > Uncategorized > @TheJobsGuy Gets a Pink Slip!

@TheJobsGuy Gets a Pink Slip!

Like many of you, I recently fell victim to the tidal wave of job loss that has been sweeping our great country. After spending the past year consulting with companies on career site optimization, search engine marketing, website analytics and social media as a recruiting strategy, the dismal economy finally caught up with me. Now I think my tweets will be even more relevant for job seekers as I am one of you, facing the same concerns, challenges and frustrations in real time.

I am an optimist and so I’m confident that we will all find good work in due time. I enjoy being TheJobsGuy as I have met a ton of really cool people and I will continue to do what I can to help you all find work. If any of you happen to stumble across anything internet marketing and/or social media related, please let me know, and thanks for all your follows, RTs and kind words.

BTW, anyone know of any good pink slip parties coming up in Minneapolis 😉

  1. Brian L Baker
    June 19, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Welcome to my world. I’m a white collar employee with over 20 years of administrative experience. I’ve been looking for close to 9 months now. This too will pass!

  2. sarakcollins
    June 19, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Hey Jobs Guy! I’m so sorry to hear this. You are right to be an optimist – you’ll just need to apply all the good advice you hear and share to yourself.

    My husband was laid off last October, and although he started working again in December, it was a stressful time. I’ve always been passionate about helping people find jobs they love, and I’ve done a lot of outplacement work. I have always really cared about my clients, but it was still eye-opening to go through it ourselves, as a family.

    It may suck a little, but you can do this! You may be surprised at what cool opportunities are around the bend!

    Sara K. Collins
    Career Management Coach
    Blog: The Hiring Room

  3. June 19, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Hi @thejobsguy! Keep on tweeting and blogging. Thanks for the inspiration.

  4. June 19, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    So sorry to hear this. Good luck with your own job search! You seem quite well equipped and very employable.

    One thing that irks me, though, is how everyone bounces around with manic optimism, and doesn’t acknowledge that some of us simply won’t survive this. There will be people who starve, or who are not employable somehow, or despite all their optimism and searching will miss that one job that could have saved them.

    This “head in the sand” attitude just makes it worse for us as we’re surrounded by all this up-talk and end up living in the alley anyway.

    • Ken Horst
      June 19, 2009 at 3:06 pm

      Job or no job we will all survive. I’ve done volunteer work in South America and lived with the poorest of the poor, odd as it may sound these were some of the happiest people I’ve ever met. They had their family, friends, and health and what little any of them had, they always seemed willing to share. They taught me a lot which is why even if I end up losing everything and living under a bridge, (I’ll have to move to a warmer climate) I will still remain optimistic and grateful for every moment I’m alive!
      In my humble opinion.

      • June 19, 2009 at 3:12 pm

        So you really don’t think a single person in North America is going to starve as a result of this terrible financial situation? Not ONE?

      • June 19, 2009 at 3:17 pm

        Never mind. I’m sure you’re going to do well. Good fortune to you.

      • Ken Horst
        June 19, 2009 at 3:30 pm

        Thanks for the wish of good fortune! Let’s both do what we can to make sure no one starves on our watch!

  5. June 19, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Ken,

    Sorry to hear that you are now in the same boat. But, out of chaos come opportunity!

    I have greatly appreciated your tweets and continue to find value in them. As result, I am now linking to you on the Resources page of my site http://www.trailsidenetworking.com. I also point alot of people your way for your insights.

    Take care and if you are in SF, would love to grab a coffee with you.

    Chris

  6. June 23, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Sorry to hear this. It’s been 6+ months for me. All we can do is hang together and keep trying. I appreciate your efforts to help us and will let you know if I hear anything.

  7. fellenwhaley
    June 25, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Ken – was sad to hear about the job! I found you on Twitter somehow a while back and have been following you – Keep Tweeting – you are an inspiration to me to hang in there. I myself have recently relaunched after 8 years on the sidelines with family – – what a year to dive back in ! Working hard to figure out how to best present the gap before I get a meet and greet ! Re-establishing networks is easier with LinkedIn out there! Will keep my eye out for you – I am in New England so not sure what might come my way

  8. June 30, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Twitter Jill Konrath. She has written an excellent and free ebook with Jeff Ogden called: ‘Get Back to Work Faster’

    Best advice I’ve ever seen anywhere on the planet !

    Good Luck,

    Dave

  9. August 6, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Keep your head up mate (sounds like you are), this will give you a bit of a forced holiday and allow you to see more of the family etc. Thats the positive/bright side to this recession!

  1. February 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

